Model profile – AndromedaX

Photograph by E.Y.M. Cheng

AndromedaX is an alternative model from Suffolk, UK.  I’m not an alt or gothic model, but I am a bit quirky, so I have shot with a few photographers that AndromedaX has shot with.  And they would always say how fantastic she was.  So I looked at her pictures, and my God, they were right.

With one foot in traditional goth, and the other in, well, Alternative Things That I Don’t Really Understand, she pulls a completely different look for every single shoot, and they are all fantastic.  She’s incredibly unusual and very talented, and I just love her work.

Where have you been published?

I’ve been fortunate enough to have been featured in several books, including ‘Worldwide Gothic: Chronicle of a Tribe‘ by Natasha Scharf, as well as various alternative lifestyle magazines such as the Norwegian magazine Rimfrost, Terrorizer, Devolution and of course the ubiquitous Bizarre magazine (along with virtually every other alt model on the planet!).

I was also lucky enough to have a couple of images featured in a calendar of gothic fantasy art created by the amazing Jason Juta last year, and to appear on a couple of album covers by American instrumentalist Cole Coleman.

In all honesty however, I have never been particularly motivated by being published, nor sought to be so. Its nice when it happens and I appreciate it, but I don’t actively pursue it. Lets face it: I’m 34 years old, I’m 5’ 2” and I’m a goth – I’m hardly going to grace the pages of Vogue or the next Pirelli calendar – so to me being published is nothing more than bragging rights… and I’m not really into doing the bragging/self-promotion thing, its just not me!

What’s your favorite photo of you?

I don’t really have a favourite; I usually have a favourite of the moment, but that tends to change fairly often! I would have to say that currently it is the blonde/white headshot image by Henry Murphy as it is unlike a lot of what I have done previously, as well as just being a really nice image in my opinion! But I (rather obviously!) don’t have any images I don’t like and am not proud of in my portfolio.

Who would you most like to work with?

That’s a really hard question to answer because again, it changes rather often! Currently I am enjoing the work produced by Darkmoda (Chris Riccio) and Russ Freeman but I’m sure if I looked I would find a dozen others! When I was still modelling on a more regular basis I did have a ‘want to work with…’ list and am happy to say I ticked off the majority of names on it (as in, worked with them, not annoyed them… although I probably did that too!).

What’s the one thing you wish you had known when you started modeling?

Oh god, I’m sure I made countless rookie errors…! I think the one thing I wished I’d realised at the start is that it is pointless to compare yourself to x/y/z other models; you’re you, they’re them, and worrying that you are too short/fat/old/whatever is completely counter-productive and detrimental to one’s self-esteem. Just be the best you can at being YOU, and make the most of what you have.

Who is your favorite model?

My all-time favourite model is and always has been Razor Candi. That girl is just incredible: ethereal, otherworldly looks and the most amazing bone structure and shape. And I am ever in awe at her versatility and styling skills. To me, she sets the bar for all other alt models.

My other favourite at the moment has to be the fabulous Maja Stina, for all the same reasons: she’s just got ‘it’, that thing that makes a model (alt or otherwise) stand out from the crowd. Striking bone structure and features, incredible figure, and can pose like a legend. I’m constantly gobsmacked by her photos, not to mention her styling skills. Absolutely top-class.

Thank you for talking to us Andromeda X.  Where can we find you on the web?

AndromedaX’s Purpleport profile

Leave a comment